

# **Notts County Golf Society**

## <u>AGM</u>

# 26/10/2024

### Lawtons Bar 11:00 - 13:00

### **Minutes:**

#### Attendees:

Wayne Pickering, Mark Beal, Andy Oldershaw, Andy Bryan, Luke Alexander, Ian Roberts, Andy Messom, Tim Sills, Nick Galpin, Rob Meredith, Tony Cottee, Neil Doherty, Phil Bull, Colin Smith & Richard Marston

#### **Apologies:**

Richard Parsons, Paul Cottee, Tom McLoughlin, Bryn Chandler, Simon Wright, Jon Hickman, Terry Lee, Jamie Squires, Nick Everitt, David Jeffrey & Matt Simpson

#### **Election of Offices:**

a. Chair: Nick Galpin (Elected 26/10/2024)

b. Secretary: Andy Bryan

c. Treasurer: Wayne Pickering

d. Handicap secretary: Tony Cottee

e. Website: Tony Cottee

f. Captain 2025 : Andy Oldershaw

g. Auditor: Tony Cottee

All offices/committee members agree to and happy to carry on their roles within the society for the following year.

#### Treasures report,

#### 2024 payments and income up to 25/10/2024

2024 Subs	+£640
Engraving 2024	-£40.20
New Singles Shield	-£88.50
AGM Drinks	-£48
Front 9 back 9 prizes	-£160
Deposits out for 2025	-£0
New Shirt embroidery	-£224
£2 raffle	-£60

Society balance not including miscellaneous items as of 26/10/2024

£1,450.34

#### The following points and proposals were discussed

<u>Subs</u> It has been agreed by the committee that 2025 subscriptions be frozen at £20 per year until further notice.

<u>3 game rule for entering the Singles comp</u> The Rule was discussed at length and was agreed that to qualify to play for the singles trophy from season 2026 onwards players will need to have played a minimum of 3 1862 Championship games the previous season, new comers will be exempt from this rule for their first season. It was also decided that the winnings for the singles would be proportionally shared between the finalists, depending on numbers taking part, this would be agreed before the singles begin.

<u>Par 3</u> It was agreed that the Par 3 comp will be moved to a Sunday as an opener at the beginning of the season instead of in June/July

£2 raffle The popular raffle was discussed and was decided that it would continue at £2 but in the case of any low turnout the society now will only subsidise the win your round by a maximum of £10 per game.

<u>Dropping balls</u> In the light of some players still dropping balls with either 1 stroke or 2 stroke penalties it was again explained that this shall not continue Players shall not drop a ball when it cant be found, **if in any doubt ASK fellow players** all issues should be addressed there and then between the players and not back in the club house after the game.

<u>Pre determined playing order</u> This will continue rather than the random draw, a well-balanced 3 or 4 ball will be sorted by the committee prior to each game.

<u>Handicaps</u> It has been decided to make slight adjustments to our handicapping system, it will be slightly less harsh for winning and slightly more forgiving finishing down the order, this will begin in 2025 and we'll see how it goes from there.

**Extra away week end** It was decided an extra week end away would be arranged in July at Kenwick Park Louth for those not attending Spain in May, all members will be welcome.

#### 2025 Captain

2024 Captain Nick Galpin was thanked for his tenure and presented the new Captain for 2025, Andy Oldershaw and he was welcomed by all and asked to nominate his Vice-Captain.

Vice-Captain 2025 : Jamie Squires

#### **Presentation of trophies by Joe Palmer**

1862 Champion: Neil Doherty
N.C.G.S. singles shield: Richard Parsons
Lincolnshire Sausage Hackers Trophy: Tom McLoughlin
Par 3 Scratch Champion: Luke Alexander
Golfer of the year: Neil Doherty
Most Eagles - No Eagles

Most Birdies 2024
Tom McLoughlin (3) David Jeffrey (3)

Most Pars 2024 Neil Doherty (44)

# **Meeting Closed**